Thursday, July 24, 2014

Thanks-Giving Thursday Giveaway #15


Thanks-Giving Thursday is a meme I came up with to say thank you to the followers - new and old - of my blog by spreading the wealth . . . the wealth of books, that is. So every - or alternate - Thursday I will be hosting a giveaway on my blog. The prize(s) will usually include at least two books (ARCs and/or finished copies) and maybe even some sort of swag.

Enter for a chance to win The Young World by Chris Weitz & The Unfinished Life of Addison Stone by Adele Griffin right here!

 

 
http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/0ec6ef33/" rel="nofollow">a Rafflecopter giveaway


RULES:

1. To enter, fill out the Rafflecopter form
2. Provide a working email with your entry
3. Entries point values:

        +10 for Following this blog
        +4 for Leaving a blog post comment
        +5 for Following me on Twitter
        +10 for Tweeting about giveaway on Twitter

4. All entrants must be at least 13 years old
5. Only one entry per person
6. Winners will be announced via blog post and via email
7. If you win, you must claim your prize within 48 hours or the winner will be re-drawn
8. Mailing address is only required if you win
9.
The giveaway ends midnight on July 24th 2014 and a winner will be chosen July 25, 2014.
10. The books are FREE all I ask is that the winner pay for shipping (Priority Flat-Rate $5.15)
11. Unfortunately, this giveaway is not open internationally.


The Young World by Chris Weitz:

Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Expected Publication Date: July 29, 2014

Welcome to New York, a city ruled by teens.
After a mysterious Sickness wipes out the rest of the population, the young survivors assemble into tightly run tribes. Jefferson, the reluctant leader of the Washington Square tribe, and Donna, the girl he's secretly in love with, have carved out a precarious existence among the chaos. But when another tribe member discovers a clue that may hold the cure to the Sickness, five teens set out on a life-altering road trip to save humankind.
The tribe exchanges gunfire with enemy gangs, escapes cults and militias, braves the wilds of the subway and Central Park...and discovers truths they could never have imagined.
 
- via Barnes and Noble
 
 
 
 
 
The Unfinished Life of Addison Stone by Adele Griffin:

Publisher: Soho Press, Incorporated
Expected Publication Date: August 12, 2014
For fans of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Girl, Interrupted, and A.S. King, National Book Award-finalist Adele Griffin tells the fully illustrated story of a brilliant young artist, her mysterious death, and the fandom that won't let her go.
From the moment she stepped foot in NYC, Addison Stone’s subversive street art made her someone to watch, and her violent drowning left her fans and critics craving to know more. I conducted interviews with those who knew her best—including close friends, family, teachers, mentors, art dealers, boyfriends, and critics—and retraced the tumultuous path of Addison's life. I hope I can shed new light on what really happened the night of July 28.
—Adele Griffin
  
- via Barnes and Noble
 

Happy Reading!
Haysel
 
 
 

 

Wednesday, July 23, 2014

Review: The Hunger Games

 By Suzanne Collins

*Warning: This review may contain spoilers. Read at your own risk.
Publisher: Scholastic, Inc
Publication date: 7.1.2010
Pages: 384
Source: Own 

The Story:

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before-and survival.

- Barnes and Noble

My Review:

Before I start my rant about The Hunger Games, I have to admit that I was reluctant to read it -- as you can see I waited until now to do so. And to be honest, I cannot give you a good reason why. Perhaps it was a number of things that prevented me from reading the book. Maybe I was afraid the book would let me down since the film was so good? or maybe I was afraid that the film strayed to far from the novel and I would be pissed?

Well, that does not matter now. I finally give in and read The Hunger Games. And loved it!

The characters were real and came off the pages. Katniss, the girl on fire, and Peeta, the boy with the bread = . The pace off the story was steady. There was just the right balance of thrill, unrequited love humor (yes!) and relative material. I mean, I fell into the story. I felt a part of it. The whole while I was reading The Hunger Games, I felt as if I were beside Katniss. Absolutely mind-altering work of literature that gets under your skin.
 
"Without thinking, I pull an arrow from my quiver and send it straight at the Gamemakers' table. I hear shouts of alarm as people stumble back. the arrow skewers the apple in the pigs' mouth and pins it to the wall behind it. Everyone stares at me in disbelief.
 
'Thank you for your consideration,' I say. then I give a slight bow and walk straight toward he exit without being dismissed" [page 102].

What I found most interesting, was how Katniss always assume she would be the one to kill Peeta during the games, although she never outright stated or even admitted it (Pages 33, 72, etc.). Yet, in the end, Katniss was the one to save Peeta.

But let us get back to Peeta Mellark. Oh, Peeta, Peeta, Peeta. He is such a sweetheart but not to the point of weakness. Maybe that is why I love his character?  Not to mention, how much better does it get then when you find out the cute, kind boy with the beard secretly pined Katniss since they were 5 years old! Can I get a "book boyfriend material!"? Amen.

"'And right when your song ended, I knew -- just like your mother -- I was a goner,' Peeta says. 'Then for the next eleven years, I tried to work up the nerve to talk to you'" [pages 300-301].

Now, I am patiently (sike!) waiting for my copies of Catching Fire and Mockingjay to arrive in the mail. Cannot wait to read them -- although I think I am going to wait to read Mockingjay after the movies since that will be the case for the first two books in the trilogy.
Rating: FOUR GOLD STARS!!

*** Check out Suzanne Collins website for more information about her and The Hunger Games: HERE

Happy reading!
Haysel

Thursday, July 17, 2014

TGTG #13: And the winner is . . .


My thirteenth Thanks-Giving Thursday Giveaway is now complete! With that said, today is the day to name to winner. May I have a drum roll please? The winner of the is . . .

Danielle Meek

Congratulations, Danielle!

You are the recipient of ARCs of The Girl in 6E by A.R. Torre & The Unfinished Life of Addison Stone by Adele Griffin. So you get to crack the cover of The Unfinished Life of Addison Stone open before finished copies hits stores on August 12, 2014!

On a final note, I've already sent you an email regarding your prize. If for some reason you have not received said email contact me at TheTatteredPage@yahoo.com. Remember, you have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will have to be drawn.

Thank you to all for becoming followers of The Tattered Page and for participating in my giveaway.

Hope you enjoy the books, Danielle!

Happy Reading!
Haysel

P.S. For those of you who didn't win, don't fret I will be hosting a ton of giveaways over the next few months!